Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of September 19 2022 - IDEAs at Home: Decolonization & The Truth and Reconciliation Commission/MRI Shows Boxers Can Regain Brain Health Post Career/Congratulations Rowan Thomson!

Share:

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of September 19 2022 - IDEAs at Home: Decolonization & The Truth and Reconciliation Commission/MRI Shows Boxers Can Regain Brain Health Post Career/Congratulations Rowan Thomson!

Published on:

  • IDEAs at Home: Decolonization & The Truth and Reconciliation Commission

    The CWC-IDEA Committee would like to invite you to have an informal, but informative conversation about how we can bring Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility into Medical Physics, our workplaces, and with our own actions. On Mon, Sept 26th at 8PM AT/7PM ET/6PM CT/5PM MT/4PM PT, we would like to discuss the topics of decolonization and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC), and how we can apply these topics in our personal and professional roles. We will be joined by our invited speaker Etienna Moostoos-Lafferty who will lead us in learning more about these important topics.

    So please bring your beverage of choice, a snack and connect with other Medical Physicists who are passionate about diving deep into our own learnings and experiences around IDEAs. Bring your questions, bring your comments, and most of all, bring a humble and open mind. This session is open to all who are interested, so feel free to pass this invitation along.

    Please register at the link below:
    https://westernuniversity.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJAqdO-pqD4uH9BSuL3bXIhDKkw3o8ARGD_3

  • Brain MRI exams show that boxers and mixed martial arts (MMA) fighters are able to regain thinking and memory skills after they stop competing, a team of researchers has found.
  • Congratulations to COMP Member Rowan Thomson, on being elected to the Royal Society of Canada!

Published on September 19, 2022

Related Articles

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of July 15 – Message from the COMP President/Blood Cancer Drug Could Help Improve The Efficiency Of Radiotherapy In Meningiomas/COMP ASM Photo Memories

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of July 15 – Message from the COMP President/Blood Cancer Drug Could Help Improve The Efficiency Of Radiotherapy In Meningiomas/COMP ASM Photo Memories

Read the Message from the new COMP President in the July issue of InterACTIONS! Drugs developed to fight blood and other cancers could also help improve the efficiency of...

July 15, 2024

Share:

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of July 8 – July 2024 InterACTIONS!/Canadian Undergraduate Medical Physics Conference/ASTRO Guideline on Radiation Therapy for Patients with HPV-related Throat Cancer

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of July 8 – July 2024 InterACTIONS!/Canadian Undergraduate Medical Physics Conference/ASTRO Guideline on Radiation Therapy for Patients with HPV-related Throat Cancer

The July 2024 issue of InterACTIONS is now available! Do you have any summer or honours project students with projects in medical physics (radiotherapy, imaging, dosimetry,...

July 8, 2024

Share:

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of July 1 – Olympic Imaging Squad Gets Set for Summer Games/First MRI Exam – July 3, 1977/Radiation Protection for Patients: ChatGPT Compared to Radiology Institutional Websites

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of July 1 – Olympic Imaging Squad Gets Set for Summer Games/First MRI Exam – July 3, 1977/Radiation Protection for Patients: ChatGPT Compared to Radiology Institutional Websites

A team of 32 radiologists and 36 radiographers are limbering up to work at the summer Olympics, which begins on 25 July. They are likely to perform more than 1800 scans on...

July 1, 2024

Share: