Pieces of interest from COMP for the week of November 14 – 2022 Innovation Grant Competition/Message From the COMP President/IDEAs at Home: STEM Outreach

Share:

Pieces of interest from COMP for the week of November 14 – 2022 Innovation Grant Competition/Message From the COMP President/IDEAs at Home: STEM Outreach

Published on:

  • COMP has an agreement with the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) to fund one or more Innovation Grants to enhance the safe use of ionizing radiation in medicine. The intent of the program is to support the creation of innovative tools that address radiation safety and security issues.  COMP is currently accepting applications for the 2022 Innovation Grant Competition!  For information, visit our CNSC Innovation Grant page.

  • Read the October message from COMP President, Boyd McCurdy.

  •  IDEAs at Home: STEM Outreach

In a world dominated by storytelling (the next superhero movie, the newest Netflix series or a New York Times bestseller), it is increasingly important to tell our own stories – who we are, what we do, and why we do it. In fact, storytelling is one of the fundamental things that make us human. We are all used to presenting our work to colleagues but we probably also all have times we would like to forget, where we’ve bombed in front of an audience of high school kids, a kindergarten class, or even friends at a party. This session will informally explore communications and outreach strategies and share experiences to find some good practices for different target communities. What was your best outreach experience?  Why was it effective? We will look at how messaging must consider the audience and that varying approaches and content will be required for maximum impact. This will NOT be a training event, but a way for people to begin to answer the question, “How do I become a better communicator?” If you are interested in attending, please register at this link.

The session will take place on Monday, November 21st at 8PM AT/7PM ET/6PM CT/5PM MT/4PM PT.

[untitled]

Published on November 14, 2022

Related Articles

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of June 17 – 2024-2027 COMP Strategic Plan/Words Matter – InterACTIONS Feature/COMP Virtual Library

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of June 17 – 2024-2027 COMP Strategic Plan/Words Matter – InterACTIONS Feature/COMP Virtual Library

Read the brand-new COMP Strategic Plan for 2024 – 2027 now here ! Words matter – taking a look at “legacy” language and how to incorporate more precise and inclusive...

June 17, 2024

Share:

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of June 10 – Shattering Glass Ceilings: Celebrating Remarkable Physicists/IDMP 2023 Article/Welcome to the 2024-2025 COMP Board of Directors!

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the week of June 10 – Shattering Glass Ceilings: Celebrating Remarkable Physicists/IDMP 2023 Article/Welcome to the 2024-2025 COMP Board of Directors!

The Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (COMP) Women’s Committee IDEA (Inclusivity, Diversity, Equity, Accessibility) group's series “Shattering Glass Ceilings:...

June 10, 2024

Share:

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the Week of June 3 – Congratulations to the COMP Gold Medal Winner/IAEA Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship Programme/Updates from Cancer Centres

Pieces of Interest from COMP for the Week of June 3 – Congratulations to the COMP Gold Medal Winner/IAEA Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship Programme/Updates from Cancer Centres

Congratulations to Dr. Frank Prato, the 2024 COMP Gold Medal Award Winner. Read more about Frank here . Spread the word! The IAEA Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellowship Programme...

June 3, 2024

Share: