Welcome from Boyd McCurdy


I am thrilled to invite you to the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists’ (COMP) 70th Annual Scientific Meeting being held June 5-8, 2024. This year we are coming together in the heart of Canada – Regina, Saskatchewan. The prairies are a fitting location for this meeting, as our theme “New Horizons: Emerging Roles in Medical Physics” will provide attendees the chance to reflect on the current medical physics landscape and discuss ways to cultivate future opportunities in the field.

Coming together

There is something extraordinary about meeting in-person in a post-pandemic era.  Coming together in one place fuels creative energy, collaboration and innovation. As COMP’s mission affirms, we support research, education, innovation and excellence in professional practice, and our ASM is the ideal place to help us accomplish this.

What’s planned this year

The ASM Planning Committee is developing a program that includes exceptional scientific, education and professional symposia with proffered sessions and a range of continuing education opportunities.  Under the experienced leadership of this year’s Chair, Patricia Lindsay, the Planning Committee is putting together a scientific program that will drive shared learning, collaboration and networking – including some opportunities for virtual engagement.  As part of COMP’s commitment to inclusion, diversity, equity and access, the Committee will also be working with the CWC-IDEA to incorporate it’s recommendations into the planning.

For 2024, we are excited to bring you:

  • A world-class showcase of prairie hospitality at the COMP ASM banquet
  • 200+ scientific papers, and poster presentations
  • 12+ exhibit booths and dedicated time to interact with our vendors and sponsors
  • Continuing education credits

Of course, there will be no shortage of opportunities for networking... and fun!

With recognition and gratitude

The City of Regina is on the traditional lands of the Treaty 4 Territory, a Treaty signed with 35 First Nations across Southern Saskatchewan and parts of Alberta and Manitoba, and the original land of the Cree, Saulteaux, Dakota, Nakota, Lakota and the homeland of the Métis.  We acknowledge the strength and vibrancy of the Indigenous Peoples whose ancestors’ footsteps have marked this territory and recognize the privileges afforded us as we gather on these lands for this meeting.

I look forward to welcoming you all to Regina!

Boyd McCurdy
President, COMP